day 8 - tempo run attempt

Spent Sunday playing with my daughter.

Today I was kind of waiting for my sister to say something, whether she would do a session with me or not. I got carried away reading stuff online. It was about 20.30 already. I thought - if I managed to run Saturday during a kid party, damn if I won’t run today! So I did. I chose Passeio Marítimo de Algés because it is a very flat and regular route. It was about 16ºC and close to no wind. I used the pants and long sleeve because I wasn’t sure of that. I was divided whether to stay there or move closer to Alcântara / Ponte 25 de Abril but stuck there to do my first tempo run training. I didn’t manage to maintain a steady faster pace for long periods (about 3 x 600m periods) but it was a good training because I managed to the whole 10km and didn’t find it too hard to manage the pace. Since there were some rhythm shifts, I varied the breathing techniques a bit.
The surroundings were calm, poorly lit. The closest street posts turned on were the ones near the Marginal road. There’s the linha de Cascais train track along it and then the tarmac segment I used, one without cars, close to where Nos Alive happens every year. It was new moon, few runners and some bikers and dog walkers. A couple of trains passed by along my running.
I prefer varied routes, preferably closer to green patches and water, with few or no repetitions, but using this segment helped me test this exercise.
It was a good training.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

day 12 - hilly run

The last few days I gave my legs rest. This Friday I forced myself out of the house to try a hilly run, sort of, the idea being the session ought to have some streep segments. Came up with the route as I was running. During the session I... Continue →