the challenge

I’m now 38 years old and a bit overweight. I’ve been running for around 2 years. Started out running short distances around home by myself with old sneakers. Got into some 10K runs and occasionally run with my sister and other friends. Got myself a smart watch Polar M200 and a Strava account and evolved from there.

This last Christmas, my dad got my sister and I a brilliant gift: a trip to Greece to take part of a marathon run. My sister is 6 years older, have been running for much longer (7 years maybe), is slim and does gym too. She took part of 2 marathon runs before but isn’t running as often as me.
She has an iron will and was the first one to tell me “sure, you can do the marathon along with me, you can do it”. Some months passed, I had a bit of a scarce running period this winter and as we’re about 6 months from the deadline, November 10th.

This is my attempt to both lose a bit of weight and train myself so that I eventually feel apt to run the whole distance. Writing this down (if it works as a routine, not yet sure) is a way for me to respect my decisions and see where it leads me. I’m writing mostly for myself but I’ll be thrilled
if this helps others, of course!

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

day 14 - run around lisbon and thoughts on these 2 weeks

Yesterday I went to Decathlon and bought some stuff. Today I used 2 - compression socks and gel. The afternoon was very hot for May. I went to meet Pedro is his house in Penha de França around 18h and we talked for almost an hour,... Continue →